Our honorary life members

Many of the key figures in developing our understanding of gastrointestinal hereditary tumours were also instrumental in the development of InSiGHT and its predecessor societies.

Our honorary life members are:

Terri Berk

Terri Berk co-founded the Canadian Familial Polyposis Registry in 1980 and served as Clinical Co-ordinator until her retirement in 2013. She was a council member of the Leeds Castle Polyposis Group.

She is Past-President of the Collaborative Group of the Americas on Inherited Colorectal Cancer and attended the first meeting of the Leeds Castle Polyposis group in 1985. She served on Council of LCPG (1999-2003) and InSiGHT (2003-2005).

Takeo Iwama

Takeo Iwama was Visiting Professor, the Department of Digestive Tract and General Surgery, Saitama Medical Center, Saitama Medical University. He graduated from Medical School of Tokyo Medical and Dental University in 1970 and trained at Musashino Red Cross Hospital and Tokyo Medical and Dental University. He was a member of Leeds Castle Polyposis Group and InSiGHT. He was the second Chair of InSiGHT, hosting the biennial meeting in Yokohama in March 2007.

Heikki Jarvinen

Heikki Jarvinen was Professor and Chief of Colorectal Surgery at Helsinki University Hospital. He founded the Finnish Polyposis Registry in 1983 and undertook important research in the genetic background of Lynch syndrome, Peutz-Jeghers syndrome and juvenile polyposis.

He was present at the first meeting of the Leeds Castle Polyposis group in 1985 and was also a member of ICG-HNPCC and of InSiGHT.

Kay Neale

Kay Neale worked at the Polyposis Registry at St Mark’s Hospital, UK from 1984 until her retirement in 2016. She attended the first meeting of the Leeds Castle Polyposis Group (LCPG) in 1985 and was the Honorary Secretary of the LCPG and then InSiGHT.

Juul Wijnen

Juul Wijnen worked at the Department of Human Genetics of Leiden University from 1976 until his retirement in 2017. He completed his PhD in 1999 with the thesis 'Molecular Genetics of Hereditary Non-Polyposis Coloretal Cancer'. At that time the research group had collected DNA and clinical information of one of the largest cohorts of FAP- and HNPCC families. He worked with Prof Meera Khan, Prof Riccardo Fodde, Prof Hans Vasen and Prof Hans Morreau in an effort to unravel the genetics of FAP and HNPCC.

He was an active member of the ICG-HNPCC and then InSiGHT, and attended all meetings from 1996.

Hans Vasen

Hans Vasen undertook a PhD on 'Screening for hereditary cancer', and is now Medical Director of The Dutch Hereditary Cancer Registry, Leiden, The Netherlands, Professor in Hereditary Cancer at the University of Leiden and Editor-in-Chief of Familial Cancer.

He was a co-founder of ICG-HNPCC and Chair of LCPG 1995-97, when he hosted the first joint meeting of the organisations. He became Co-Administrative Director of InSiGHT on its formation 2005-13.

Robin Phillips

Robin Phillips was a Consultant Surgeon at St Mark’s Hospital in 1987-2017, where he was Director of the Polyposis Registry. He was a Council member of LCPG, and subsequently Co-Administrative Director of InSiGHT 2005-13

Lucio Bertario

Lucio Bertario was a colorectal surgeon and head of the Unit of Hereditary Digestive Tract Tumours in Milan, Italy. He was Chair of Leeds Castle Polyposis Group 1999-2001, and hosted the third combined meeting of ICG-HNPCC and LCPG in Venice, Italy 2001. He took part in many collaborative studies, notably CAPP2 of which he is an author.

John Burn

John Burn was Professor of Clinical Genetics at Newcastle University, UK where he led the regional NHS Genetics Service for 20 years and helped to create the ‘Centre for Life’. In 2016, he was appointed Executive Chairman of Global Variome Ltd, a not-for-profit company supporting services to the international coordination work of the Human Variome Project. He was Chair of InSiGHT 2003-5 and hosted the biennial meeting in Newcastle, UK in 2005.

James Church

James Church was a colorectal surgeon at the Cleveland Clinic where he headed the family cancer services for many years. He was co-Investigator of the Collaborative Colorectal Cancer Family Registry, funded by a research grant from the National Cancer Institute.

He was a long serving member of the Leeds Castle Polyposis Group, ICG-HNPCC and InSiGHT, serving as Chair 2001-3, and Honorary Treasure till he stepped down in 2019. He hosted the biennial meeting in Cleveland, USA in 2003. In addition, he served as President of the Collaborative Group of the Americas on Inherited Colorectal Cancer

Patrick Lynch

Patrick Lynch was Professor of Medicine in the Department of Gastroenterology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre. He was a member of InSiGHT Council since its inception until his retirement in 2022. He was Co-chair 2009-11, hosting the biennial meeting in San Antonio. He ran the 2016 New York Marathon to raise funds for InSiGHT.