Council members are elected by the membership of InSiGHT at the biennial InSiGHT meeting. They serve a term of four years, and attend two council meetings each year, usually held in London.

Council documents, including minutes of council meetings can be downloaded below. Older documents and application forms to stand for election to council are available from the secretariat on request.

InSiGHT needs a dynamic  and diverse council in order to reach its goals, and encourages active members to consider standing for election to council. If you are interested please contact the secretariat for more information.

Chair - Tom Weber (USA)

Tom Weber is Academic Professor of Surgery and Cancer Epidemiology at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra / Northwell in New York. He is also Director of Surgical Oncology Services for the Western Region of Northwell Health and serves as the Medical Co-Director of the Cancer Genetics Programs in that region focusing on hereditary GI malignancies. Tom attended his first LCPG meeting in 1995 and has been a regular attendee and supporter through the development of the ICG-HNPCC and ultimately InSiGHT at its inception in 2005. He is also a former President of the Collaborative Group of the Americas.

As InSiGHT Chair, Tom intends to promote vigorous discussion of and reinvigorated strategic plans for how InSiGHT can best continue to advance its mission of “improving the quality of care of patients and families with any hereditary condition resulting in gastrointestinal tumors” on the global stage. This will need to be a collaborative international effort. He is also looking forward to hosting InSiGHT 2021 in NYC where we intend to show case InSiGHT’s continued contributions to the field and also significantly advance productive collaboration with our partners in the South American Group(s), Collaborative Group of the Americas, South East Asian Group and the European Hereditary Tumour Group. In addition, the meeting will include mobilizing members to focus on strategies to identify the literally millions of individuals around the world carrying pathogenic Lynch Syndrome germline variants, the vast majority of whom are unaware of their high-risk status. Importantly, the goal will be identification of carriers before they present with life threatening illness.

Immediate past chair - Susan Parry (New Zealand)

Susan Parry is Associate Professor of Gastroenterology specialising in familial gastrointestinal cancers. She is the Clinical Director of the New Zealand Familial Gastrointestinal Cancer Service, and Clinical Director of the Ministry of Health Bowel Cancer Programme. Susan is a past President of the New Zealand Society of Gastroenterology and has been a member of InSiGHT since it began. She was a member of the predecessor organisations, the LCPG and ICG-HNPCC. Susan has been involved as an investigator in the Australasian Colorectal Cancer Family Study-Colon CFR for many years and has a research interest in the Serrated Polyposis Syndrome.

Secretary - Finlay Macrae (Australia)

Finlay Macrae is Professor in the Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne, Australia and Head of Colorectal Medicine and Genetics at The Royal Melbourne Hospital. He was a founding member of the antecedent Leeds Castle Polyposis Group, and instigated creation of the InSiGHT MMR database, its Variant Interpretation Committee, and the association with the Human Variome Project.

Gabriel Capella (Spain)

Gabriel Capella is Director of the Hereditary Cancer Program at the Catalan Institute of Oncology. He trained as a general and digestive surgeon in Barcelona, and is also accredited in Human Genetics by the Spanish Society of Human Genetics. His research focuses in the study of the genetic basis of gastrointestinal cancer with a particular interest in hereditary colorectal cancer.

Ian Frayling (UK)

Ian Frayling is Consultant in Genetic Pathology in Cardiff, Wales. His work now concentrates on mutation interpretation and systematic testing of incident cancers to identify hereditary cases. He is also an assessor for the UK National External Quality Assessment Scheme in Immunohistochemistry. He is a founder member of InSiGHT, InSiGHT’s Variant Interpretation Committee, and the Mallorca Group.

Nicoline Hoogerbrugge (Netherlands)

Nicoline Hoogerbrugge is Professor in Hereditary Cancer at Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen. She has been directly involved in identification of several genes involved in hereditary colorectal cancer, including EPCAM, BUB1, BUB3,FOCAD and recently NTHL1. She also works on dendritic cell vaccinations for cancer prevention in healthy carries of a Lynch syndrome mutation.

Matthew Kalady (USA)

Matthew Kalady is Professor of Surgery at Cleveland Clinic and the Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University. He is Vice-Chairman of the Department of Colorectal Surgery and has an active clinic practice treating patients with hereditary colorectal cancer syndromes. He is the Director of the Cleveland Clinic Sanford R Weiss Center for Hereditary Colorectal Neoplasia. In these roles, he has developed and overseen multidisciplinary clinical and research programs, and he has an extensive track record in both clinical and scientific publications on hereditary CRC syndromes. He has also served as the President of the Collaborative Group of the Americas on Hereditary Colorectal Cancer (2013-14).

Andrew Latchford (UK)

Andrew Latchford is Consultant Gastroenterologist at St Mark's Hospital and Honorary Senior Lecturer at Imperial College, London. He is Assistant Director of the St Mark's Hospital Polyposis Registry and currently supervises research on upper GI tract disease in polyposis syndromes, pouch polyps in FAP, serrated polyposis syndrome and identification/management outcomes in Lynch syndrome. He was an expert advisor to NICE in the development of guidelines for universal tumour MMR testing.

Patrick Lynch (USA)

Patrick Lynch is Professor of Medicine, Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Nutrition, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre. He has been a member of InSiGHT since its inception and was Co-chair 2009-11. He was a member of the predecessor organizations, the LCPG and ICG-HNPCC. His current interest is the development of a web-based platform for communication of risk information within mutation-positive families. He ran the 2016 New York Marathon to raise funds for InSiGHT.

Allan Spigelman (Australia)

Allan Spigelman is Professor of Surgery at the University of New South Wales, and Director of St Vincent's Hereditary Cancer Clinic. He described the most widely used classification for upper gastrointestinal polyposis in FAP patients while a research fellow at St Mark’s Hospital. He has gone on to establish cancer genetic clinics across his state in Australia, and remains active in the cancer genetic research area. He was Chair of InSiGHT council and hosted the biennial meeting of InSiGHT in Cairns in 2013.